Denver: Hockey and Fenestration

img_0414

Recently I was given the opportunity to attend the National Fenestration Rating Council’s (NFRC’s) 2016 Fall Membership Meeting in Denver, Colorado.  My visit to Denver was a first for me, as was the experience of serving on staff at such a great event.

Business travel is always busy, but that doesn’t necessarily mean there’s no time for leisure.  Aside from having the opportunity to share experience with friends and colleagues from across the industry (always a highlight of my trips), I carved out some time to check out my first live National Hockey League (NHL) game.  The Colorado Avalanche versus the Minnesota Wild.  It was still preseason, but it was a great time!  Seeing how I was in the market for a souvenir to remember my trip, I picked up an Avalanche hat and puck to mark the occasion.

Though both teams were still tuning up for the season, it was still exciting to see the Avalanche perform on home ice.  They beat out the Wild 2-0.  I’d like to send out a big thanks to Pepsi Center, and all the players on the ice for putting on a great show!

 

Daily Reflection On Leadership

While I was away I also had the time to catch up on some reading; long flights are good for that.  I filled the time passing between takeoff and landing by finishing up my first read of two books; Lions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All OddsLions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All OddsLions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All Odds, and The Edge – Business Performance through Information Technology Leadership.  Both are exceptional stories about leadership, but they reside firmly in two different worlds.

For leaders in the private sector who want to understand the difference between leading teams under the austere conditions of combat and their own boardrooms; or are simply hungry to get a glimpse into the Afghan conflict few will see, Lions of Kandahar is suitable for both.  It’s a graphic view of military leadership during the Global War on Terrorism.

The Edge is a work of fiction, but it provides some interesting insight into the issues faced by technical and non-technical leaders in the private sector.  A great read if you’re trying to reach collaborative solutions, and seeking to gain a technical leg up on the competition in the marketplace.

 

Faith

My travel schedule over the last few weeks distracted me from my key faith based initiative; the Presbyterian church’s now passed Season of Peace and the Peace and Global Witness Offering.  Luckily I work with a committed group of leader’s at Stone Presbyterian Church, and they were more than willing to step up and help me through this busy period.

Fitness

My journey towards physical rejuvenation continues; although my diet and regime has struggled for the last couple of weeks.  It’s always tough to maintain good habits while away, so my trip to Denver was a bit of a trial.  Great news though!  I was active most of the days I was away, and managed to keep my diet primarily garden based; which translated to zero slippage on the scale.  Go me!

Join the fray...

