E-R Diagramming: Doctoral Tracking Database (Part 2)

P2280043.jpg

The 2016 Summer Term at SUNY Empire State College is coming to a close, and I’m working feverishly to reign in the loose ends of my Database Systems study.  Once settled I look forward to moving on to my final term this Fall.

To accomplish my immediate goal will require a baptism into Structured Query Language (SQL); which is a special purpose programming language used to manage data in relational databases.  Up to this point I’ve been feeling my way through the process of creating Entity-Relationship Diagrams (ERDs); by exploring a doctoral tracking database case study.  This was a challenging effort.  What I’ve discovered about database modeling is that it’s easy to get bogged down in circular thought, and if you’re indecisive the work may never get done.

Database design is a creative process, and as such there are seemingly infinite options when it comes to defining entities and their relationships.  Some caution is necessary in order to make sure that relationships are properly identified, but perfection isn’t required for the final solution to meet the need.

So after a lot of effort, a little collaboration with classmates, and some brave decision making, I present the final version of the ERD I developed for the Doctoral Tracking Database:

DTDBS ERD Part 2 Pic

Next steps involve moving ahead with implementation, and therefore bringing the database to life.

Join the fray...

