Release the Panic: Recalibrated

 

RedRecalibrated

After the challenges I faced last semester I’ve been intentional about resting over the last few weeks, and preparing for when the Spring semester starts next week.

Part of that has meant checking out the music scene to see what I’ve missed, or just haven’t gotten a chance to listen to.

One of my favorite bands on the Christian rock scene is Red.

If you’ve never heard of them (or anybody in the Christian music scene for that matter), I’ll offer you a disclaimer; they’re a far cry from what you may remember about “church music” when you were a kid.

Red is an American rock band from Nashville, Tennessee.  And well, they rock!  Hard.

I’ve been meaning to checkout their 2014 release, Release the Panic:  Recalibrated, since I heard the remix of Release the Panic last year.  I picked up both versions of Release the Panic (the single) last year.

Totally awesome!

So last week I decided to splurge on the $6.00 to complete my copy of Recalibrated (I’m an iTunes addict, so this was crazy easy).

It has been getting heavy play in my headphones ever since.  I’m loving it!

Some people may take issue with the darker themes of Red’s music, but I’ve always appreciated it for what it is.  It’s a creative expression of many of the challenges that all Christian’s face in their daily lives.

I think they’re an important voice in a broader genre of music that, also appropriately, speaks to the more glowing parts of our faith.

If you get a chance (and you like to rock) give Red a chance.

You won’t be disappointed.

Join the fray...

