Reconnecting: Sunday Worship

Re-connecting.

A great image I found at http://www.rockcitychurch.com.

It was great being back in church today.

Having finally shook off the dust of our recent fight with the flu, my family and I finally felt well enough to head back to Sunday Worship. It had been close to a  month since we’d last taken our place  in the pew.  A combination of not feeling up to the task, and not wanting to spread our virus to the other (very grateful hearts) of our church family kept us at bay.

However (despite our prudent choice) when we returned today it was disheartening to hear the good woman who ministers to our congregation’s youngest parishioners (in the nursery) fell victim to the flu herself; through other channels.  It’s been a rough flu season this year in the North Country.

I always find it a little strange returning to church after a long absence.  It never feels like the bonds I have with my church family have loosened, but still, there is a sense of disconnect from the happenings in the congregation.  I find that social media is great for alleviating that sense of alienation, and staying connected with the family.  One of the most active people on my Facebook timeline is my Pastor.

I’m so grateful for being able to attend worship today, I find the Christian walk is so much easier when I’m surrounded by my brothers and sisters in Christ; it’s easier to find the rhythm of life, to keep things in perspective, and to not feel isolated in my daily walk.  When I say walk I’m referring not only to my overall relationship with Christ, but also my daily ministry.

God hallows all things, if you believe that (and I do) then you have to believe the things you do daily are in the service of God.  Like all Christians, my ministry is one of service.  I serve God daily by doing the following:

  1. Creating information technology (IT) management solutions for a small company in northern New York.
  2. Loving, leading, mentoring, and learning from my family.
  3. Engaging in my studies at Empire State College.
  4. Caring for my body; which is the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 3:16).
  5. Being a proper steward of the blessings God has placed in my life.

I find, absent of the church community in my life, it’s easy to fall prey to the secular idea that this world is powered by my own ambition.  It’s better to be surrounded by people that know the truth.  My spirit was screaming to be re-engaged with my church community.

It’s good to be back.

Join the fray...

