The Opening of Spring

spring5_DESKTOPsmall.emlOGcM4MSsU

A beautiful photo I found at fiftyfootshadows.net. Thought I’d share ūüôā

The Spring term at Empire State College (ESC) has officially started, and I thought I was ready but then the flu came to visit.

Well…actually it visited my daughter, then my bride (or something equally nasty, the doctors haven’t gotten past a split decision on the matter), and finally myself. ¬†It’s a painful way to kick off a new term, but I don’t intend to let it drag me down.

It takes a lot more than a dry cough, cold chills, achy joints and a fever to hold me down. ¬†I’ve got love, faith, and snuggles to lift me up; and I’m grateful for that, because I’ll need all three as I enter another season of over overlapping terms at ESC.

A great support structure is the key to a non-traditional student’s success.

In the Fall my kids and I were blessed to take part in our church’s Blessing of the Backpacks ceremony. ¬†After a brief message delivered by our pastor, the congregation offered us up in prayer, and we were provided a First Aid Kit to support us during the next leg of our academic journey. ¬†Our First Aid Kits¬†were filled with various trinkets to remind us of our Christian virtues, and guide us through the challenges that were sure to come over the next school year.

I can remember thinking at the time that it was a wonderful way to start out a new school year, and a novel method of encouraging oneness in our congregation while we scholars, friends, and family readied ourselves for a new season of study.

I didn’t know at the time how useful the items in that First Aid Kit would be in the months that followed.

Since that time I’ve been working through the complexities of overlapping terms, and transitioning into a new Information Technology Coordinator position at the office; all while helping my family negotiate the complexities of common core, kindergarten, preschool, and home life. ¬†Flexibility, patience, love, hope, and faith have been key assets in my families quest to maintain our sanity while getting it all done. ¬†That and a healthy sense of adventure.

I’m forever grateful for the support of my friends and family, and the inspiration that my fellow students at ESC, provide me with on this journey. ¬†Either in person, or in spirit, they’ve all been instrumental in helping me walk this path I’m on.

Sources Cited:

Photo at top of post.

http://fiftyfootshadows.net/2010/04/23/finally-a-taste-of-spring/

Join the fray...

