A Rebirth of Purpose

 Purpose-Branding Strategy Insider.

I found this totally awesome graphic at Branding Strategy Insider.

College is a different experience for non-traditional students.  I can speak on the subject with some degree of authority.  I was in my mid-twenties when I took my first college placement exam.  Now in my mid-thirties, I’m simultaneously wrapping up my associate’s degree while working on my bachelor’s degree, I can promise you any fanciful thoughts I had about Greek life disappeared before I ever stepped foot into a traditional classroom.

Occasionally I journey out onto the internet looking for kindred spirits roaming the expanse of the web to spread stories about their college experience.  I seldom find them.

I sometimes feel like the halls of academia don’t have a voice outside the shadows of their dorms.

Maybe it’s because my peers feel like they don’t have anything to say.  Maybe it’s because they feel like they don’t have the time.  It’s a shame because sometimes the simple act of drafting a lighthearted blog post is all it would take for them to re-discover the essence of life; which is their sense of a higher purpose.

Like my peers I’ve struggled to find my voice when it comes to talking about my college experience.

As non-traditional students I think it’s easy for us to convince ourselves that the text in front of us defines our life of twilight solitude.  In the same way we allow our careers to define us as individuals, Both acts are criminal in their own ways.

I decided early in my college journey that I wanted more out of the experience than to simply hang a diploma on the wall.

I wanted to feel alive.  I wanted to be challenged.  I wanted to grow, and I wanted to be enriched.

To simply reach for a piece of paper, without having a hunger for purpose just leaves you worn.

I think I forgot that for a moment, but I remember it now.

I’m ready for another season ESC.

Are you?

Join the fray...

