Victoria: Part One

inner-harbour

Recently I was privileged to attend the National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC)‘s 2014 Fall Membership Meeting; in beautiful Victoria, British Columbia. This year’s fall meeting was especially exciting because it marked the 25th anniversary of the NFRC’s service to the public trust, and the window and door industry.  As an added bonus I was blessed to have my lovely bride at my side to experience the excitement of the NFRC’s celebration first hand.  Victoria turned out to be a welcoming community, and as a duo my wife and I embarked on the adventure of exploring the sights and sounds of the city; while tagging along with friends (old and new), industry contacts, and fellow volunteers to share in the experience.

Despite our antics around Victoria, I did of course get some work done too.

I feel like the NFRC is discussing several interesting items now days; some of which are the following:

  • On the coattails of NFRC’s 2009 release of the Component Modeling Approach (CMA) Program, intended to certify commercial fenestration products, the NFRC is currently discussing a similar component based residential program for rating energy performance.
  • Extending the present 4 year product certification cycle to 5 years (with the possibility of including a 5 year extension); allowing manufacturers to extend the shelf life of their product certifications to a 10 year span.

(and appeasing my geek side)

  • Their continued effort to improve the Component Modeling Approach (CMA) Software Tool (CMAST) software.
  • …and the holistic effort to make the web based Certified Product Directory (CPD) more user friendly and efficient.

I’m grateful for having the opportunity to discuss these subjects at the meeting.

The NFRC is an amazing non-profit organization, its mission is to develop and administer “energy-related rating and certification programs that serve the public by providing fair, accurate, and credible information on fenestration performance.”  I enjoy my volunteer work with the NFRC because it directly feeds my interest in sustainable design; and fosters my ability to work in collaborative, inter-organizational, work environments.

How did my studies fare in Victoria…not so well.  However, some timely communication with my professors set me on the right path for success.

In my next post on Victoria we’ll talk about some of the fun my wife and I had on our little adventure.

Stay tuned 🙂

Sources Cited:

The beautiful shot of Victoria’s Inner Harbour

http://hometowntravelagency.com/explore-victoria-british-columbia-canada-city-of-gardens/

National Fenestration Rating Council-Website

http://www.nfrc.org/

One comment

  1. Pingback: Overlapping Terms | TeknicalGrit

Join the fray...

