Hello from the North Country

That’s northern New York for the uninitiated.

Far from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, we are the other New York.  Surrounded by cow pastures, lakes, rivers, mountains and snow.  Lots and lots of snow.  Our politics are conservative, and our plow trucks are huge.  We wear flannel, denim, and t-shirts; and we’re proud of it.

My name is Stewart Nicholas, and TeknicalGrit is my blog about life as a non-traditional college student at the State University of New York’s Empire State College (ESC).  I am a student at the Center for Distance Learning (CDL), the college’s virtual campus; we’re known as the college without walls.

I am a toddler (so to speak) at ESC.  I am approximately two semesters from graduating with my A.S. in Science, Mathematics, and Technology (majoring in Information Technology); but I am presently preparing for what is only my third semester with ESC.  I am so excited about the fact, but my excitement is tempered by the fact that the achievement is only a stepping stone in accomplishing my present goal of earning my Bachelor of Science (with a major in Computer Information Systems).  I began my studies with a significant amount of transfer credit from Georgia Military College (GMC.  Go Bulldogs!!!), Central Texas College-Europe (CTC; where I studied Criminal Justice, hunkered down in in tents with a headlamp at night); and from my experience in the U.S. Army (trained as both a Network Switching Systems Operator-Maintainer, and a Nodal Network Systems Operator-Maintainer).

As this is only an introduction I won’t bore you with many details, but I will say I am looking forward to what is to come  this semester.  My academic goals are set in place by my current registration, and I am waiting for my Post 9/11 GI Bill to kick in and cover the expenses; I will be studying computer programming in Microsoft’s Visual Basic language, and Images of Woman in Western Culture.  Should be interesting.

I hope all is well, thanks for stopping by.

-Stewart

Join the fray...

